Harness Racing Industry Consultation Group

The Harness Racing Industry Consultation Group was formed in accordance with Part 5 & schedule 2 of the Harness Racing Act 2009.

 HRICG Code of Conduct


Julie Maughan - Chairperson

Julie Maughan is the Graduation and Penalty Harness Racing Clubs Committee (HRCC) representative and is the first female elected to the position of the Harness Racing Industry Consultation Group (HRICG).

Living in the north of the State Julie was the first female Chair elected to the Tamworth HRC and served the Club well as Chair for a period of four years from 2016-2020.

Julie is the Secretary of the Armidale HRC (7 yrs) and President of the North and North West Harness Racing Association.

With a lifetime involvement in the sport of harness racing Julie is looking forward to her position on HRICG.


Danny Dwyer - Deputy Chair

Danny Dwyer is the Harness Racing Clubs Committee (HRCC) member representing the TAB Clubs and is also HRICG secretary.

In a voluntary role Danny also gives of his time on the Education and Welfare Committee - a group formed to review venue and workplace safety for participants, officials and patrons.

Danny Dwyer held the position of Honorary Secretary of the Harness Racing Clubs Committee (HRCC) for 12 years and is the current Honorary Secretary of the Western Districts Association, a position he has held for more than 12 years.

Danny recently received the Don Clough Volunteers Award and is the CEO of Bathurst HRC a position he has held for 15 years and has a strong involvement in the industry as an owner and trainer of a small stable located in Bathurst.

Robert Marshall- NSW Harness Racing Club


Robert represents Club Menangle on the Board of HRICG. He is currently the Chairman of the Principal Club and has had a lifetime involvement in harness racing as an owner and administrator.

Robert has held positions on the Regulatory and Commercial Boards of Harness Racing NSW and is a former Chairman of the Inter Dominion Harness Racing Council.

Robert is a Director of the NSW Harness Racing Industry Standardbred Re-Homing Company Ltd.


Flora Robson - Harness Breeders NSW


Owner, Breeder and Stud master of Braeton Park Standardbred Stables.
Third generation Harness racing family and breeding enthusiast. President Harness Breeders NSW, secretary Trotters Association NSW, Director of Equivet, licenced A Grade Trainer & former Lecturer TAFE Equine Studies.


Peter Dewsbury - NSW Owners Association


Peter has been a Harness Racing participant for over 50 years this includes training, owning & breeding. Peter is currently the Group Trade Manager for Home Timber & Hardware and is a committee Member of the the Housing Industry Association (NSW) - Memberships & Training Committees.


Wally Mann - Licencees


Wally Mann is the current United Harness Racing Association (UHRA) Secretary and has held the position of President of the UHRA in the past. Wally also holds an A Grade Trainers licence.

Having a strong passion for the harness racing industry Wally is a current Member of the Harness Breeders NSW Association.

Over the years Wally has given his time as a former Board Member HRNSW (Participants Representative) along with being a former President of the NSW Standardbred Owners Association as well as being a former Deputy Chair of HRICG.